Special Presentation Speakers

For over fifteen years H.E. Hul Seingheng is currently the Director-General of the Ministry of Industry, Science, Technology, and Innovation and the National Chairman of the ASEAN Committee of Science, Technology, and Innovation (COSTI) - Cambodia. He used to be the Director for Research of the Institute of Technology of Cambodia. His passion for Science, Technology & Innovation instigates a choice in engineering major for undergraduate and graduate degree. Many peer-reviewed scientific articles of H.E. Hul are on the artificial intelligence applied to optimize materials used in industrial processes and on water-related technologies and management. He has been invited more than a hundred times as a keynote speaker in national and international scientific events. His motivation is to instill Science, Technology & Innovation among the future generation with endeavors for socio-economic development. Networking or making friends are among his outside work.


Philippe Quevauviller has been a researcher in oceanography in the years 1983-1989 at the University of Bordeaux in particular in the framework of cooperation with the Portuguese Environment Ministry in Lisbon and the Dutch Ministry for Public Works in The Hague. He obtained two
PhDs (oceanography and chemistry) and the highest French University degree. He started his career at the European Commission in 1989 as a scientific officer at DG Research, then as a policy officer at DG Environment, and moved to the DG Home Secure Societies Programme in 2013. Besides his work at the European Commission, he is also Associate Professor at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) and a scientific writer and editor.


His Excellency is currently the Secretary of the Department of Agriculture who was appointed by President Rodrigo Roa Duterte.
He was also named by then-President Joseph Estrada as DA acting secretary, from July 1998 to May 1999. Under his short 11-month watch, he started implementing the provisions of the Agriculture and Fisheries Modernization Act (AFMA).

To date, he is the only Filipino who led a global agricultural research institute — the International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), in India, serving for an unprecedented three five-year terms, from 2000 to 2014. He left a legacy benefitting millions of farmers in India, Africa, and other dryland countries, including the Philippines.

Son of poor farmers from Danuman West, Sta. Maria, Ilocos Sur, Dar has quadrupled the income and investments poured into ICRISAT, from US$ 21 million in 2000 to US$ 85 million in 2014. The fund went to further develop modern and sustainable crop cultivars/hybrids and technologies of its five major commodities (sorghum, pearl millet, chickpea, pigeon pea, and peanut) that are planted by tens of millions of small farmers worldwide.

ICRISAT is one of the 15 research institutes under the CGIAR (Consultative Group for International Agricultural Research), a global partnership dedicated to reducing rural poverty, increasing food security, improving human health and nutrition, and ensuring sustainable management of natural resources. The International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) in Los Banos, Laguna, is also a member of CGIAR.

During his term, ICRISAT has partnered with the Philippines’ Department of Agriculture through the Bureau of Agricultural Research, sharing modern sustainable farming technologies and cultivars of sweet sorghum, peanut, chickpea (garbanzos) and pigeonpea (kadyos) thousands of farmers in rainfed areas of Cagayan Valley, Ilocos, Southern Luzon, and Southern Mindanao regions.

He is currently the President of InangLupa Movement Inc., (InangLupa), a movement working for an inclusive, science-based, climate-smart and competitive Philippine agriculture. He is also the former country representative of Prasad Seeds Philippines Inc.

His extensive research and professional experience were on crop management, farming systems development, and technology sharing and upscaling.

Before leaving for India, he also served as Presidential Advisor on Food Security (1999) and Executive Director, National Agricultural and Fishery Council (1998).

He was also the first director of the Bureau of Agricultural Research (DA-BAR). He then served as executive director of then PCARRD, from 1994 to 1998. The agency is now called the Philippine Council for Agriculture, Aquatic and Natural Resources Research and Development, based in Los Baños, Laguna.

He has received eight Doctorate degrees (Honoris Causa) in various fields by several state universities and colleges in (SUCs) in the Philippines.

In 1988, he was among the Ten Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) of the Philippines, and received an “Outstanding Administrator Award” from the Department of Science and Technology.

In 2014, he received the “Outstanding MS Swaminathan Leadership Award” from India.

On December 5, 2014, he received a “Pamana ng Pilipino Award” from then President Benigno Aquino III, honoring outstanding overseas Filipino individuals and organizations.

And in 2016, he received the distinguished "The Outstanding Filipino" or TOFIL Award in the field of agriculture.


© Copyright 2021 csdrasean. All Rights Reserved.